Impalas.net banner

Original tranny

6K views 27 replies 5 participants last post by  ImpalaJon 
#1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to the forum, and new to impala's. I'm an old gearhead and am quite familiar with chevelles and engine/tranny rebuilding. However I am new to restorations/body work as well as Impalas, and that's Why I'm here. I Bought a partially restored 1963 series 1800 impala with "THREE ON THE TREE". It came with a number "correct" 283 rebuilt motor, and an incorrect BW T-10 - the previous owner wanted to put this tranny in it. No problem. I, on the other hand, wish to restore it to more original specs and put an original "synchromesh" 3-speed back in it. I am not building a modrod or hot rod, and just want a near as I can get original Impala for my son to cruise in (he loves Impala's).

The build manual shows this as a part# 3820503 synchromesh transmission.

PROBLEM: I have no idea what this is or where to find one

I have looked everywhere and tried to call GM (no help there)

What is this transmission, and what are replaceable equivalents?

Muncie 318?
Muncie 319?
Warned Gear 3-speed?

Where can I find a "proper" replacement?

I'm sure this is not the first time this has come up for many of you, and probably even in these forums, but a quick search wasn't yielding.

Thanks for any help!

JD

See less See more
#2 ·
Welcome to the Team John!

Most if not all are scrap metal by this time. I had one in my 1961 three quarter ton Apache pick-up that I put a SBC 4000 and a SM465 four speed to make a tow truck for my race car (after my 1954 International R-160 Cab Over semi died for lack of replacement parts for it's brakes). I replaced the three speed with the Muncie four speed (with PTO) out of a dump truck because I was breaking a three speed every time I had to back up.