Impalas.net banner

New to the site! Thanks for having me

1K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  janimpala 
#1 ·
Hi all -

My name is Jan Karl Lorenzen, from Brooklyn, NY. Prior to that, I lived in Englishtown NJ and was a member of the Jersey Late Greats.

My ride is a 64 Impala SS coupe, Daytona blue with the light blue interior, 327/250, 4 speed that I've had since 1983. My dad found it in the local NJ paper, and I ended up with it when I graduated from college. I took it out of regular daily driving service in 85 (replaced by an old lady's 60K mile triple black 64 4dr, 283 3sp, mb, ms, blank in the acc tag space, that I drove in NYC until 1999 when I sold it with 215K). The SS been a rolling restoration ever since, meaning I never took it apart so far that I couldn't get it back together in a few days if I had to. I moved it from garage to garage to outdoor parking lot and back to a garage over the years.

Two years ago, after seeing it sit around and only get driven maybe twice a year because I could never spend the time I wanted to on it, I decided it was time to finish it or get rid of it. I chose finish it.

It had the usual Jersey rust on it, but I had done a lot of all the other work. I had done a budget resto back in 85, and it really needed to be done the right way. Anyway, a lot of lower metal got replaced and I have it back now. Its in the garage with me reassembling everything and finally doing the things I've always wanted to get done to it.