Impalas.net banner

61 Convertible resto. Found in a ditch

798K views 937 replies 140 participants last post by  Calix Lee 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi. just doing a google search and found the site. Im building a 61 Impala convertible from the ground up, so far doing it all myself. This is my first attempt at a car this bad since it was had been sitting in a ditch for the past 20 plus years.

this is about where Im at with it now 7 months later thanks to a donor 62 buick convertible and two 4 door 61 Bel Air donor cars.

Im about ready to start on the floors then I will have the car blasted.

See less See more
#6 ·
Thanks. heres a quick rundown of what Im doing.

I know some of my welding isnt the greatest due to lack of experience but Im getting better as I go. 61 Impalas are my favorite year and I always wanted a convertible but a descent driver runs 25 grand and up. I figured as long as it was a vert I will do whatever it takes to fix it.
As for the car itself, It was pulled from a ravine up in Lawton Oklahoma. It had another car drug over the top of it so basically it was bad. With a couple donor cars I am determined to fix it. Anyways heres some pics and I will post more as I go.
Heres some pics of the floor, once I cleaned it out.

#32 · (Edited)
Scary stuff. You going to put a roll bar in it this time around?

Great workmanship. You must be daring to tackle such a project with only 4-doors and a different make for parts. You can certainly be proud of your efforts.

Big Dave
Thanks Big Dave. I'll post more pics as I go. Prior to this car, I had never done anything more than a simple patch panel before. Im no pro welder but I can tell Ive gotten better since I started on this thing. lol.