Clutch and Flywheel - 1000 miles - Impala Tech
Transmission & Driveline Transmissions & Differentials

3Likes
  • 1 Post By jayoldschool
  • 1 Post By jayoldschool
  • 1 Post By Big Dave

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-05-2020, 04:16 PM Thread Starter

Shown in the attached are the clutch and flywheel out of the T-56 in my '68. I was curious to know anyone's thoughts on the condition of these parts as I'm a relative beginner in the world of the manual tramsmission. 1000 miles of easy, break-in driving. No burnouts or even hard launches as I'm still getting over sticker shock. I'm particularly interested in the dark spots on the flywheel and what that might indicate. Thanks for any replies.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200105_145133_1578258985551.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	22.7 KB
ID:	23032   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200105_145130_1578259000967.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	23034  

1968 Impala SS
496 Stroker
T56 Conversion
3.73 Posi-Trac
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 01-05-2020, 05:29 PM

Heat spots getting the flywheel up to 640 degrees from the disc slipping. Odd that they are all on one side of the flywheel. Those spots are now case harden and are harder (to resist wear) than the straw colored or uncolored portions of the flywheel. Additionally case hardening portions of the flywheel like that will be prone to cracking if not removed by surfacing the flywheel in a horizontal mill.

Apparently you have more engine torque than the clutch disc can hold either due to mis-adjustment or lack of clamping force. I used to run a Borg & Beck pressure plate with springs strong enough to make me walk to the left for the first half of my life, just to get enough clamping force to hold against slicks. If I were to use a clutch today with an engine I built I would use a dual disc clutch on the street or a three disc clutch if racing again.