62 Rear Diff Rebuild help - Impala Tech
Transmission & Driveline Transmissions & Differentials

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-06-2020, 08:17 PM Thread Starter

Garage
62 Rear Diff Rebuild help

So I have zero experience with rebuilding rear differentials. I took mine to a shop to have them take a peek. They called me and said the gears and axles were good but that it needed seals and bearings. He said that was going to be $1200! That seems really high to me. I'm seeing rebuild kits for like $300. Can anyone give me some advice on this? If the insides are good how much should the parts cost to rebuild...how hard would it be to do myself...whats a reasonable cost for a shop to do it? Are there any parts would need to think about replacing other than the seals and bearings? Thank you!

Aaron
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-07-2020, 01:08 AM

New bearings and seals with gaskets runs about $360, from memory but the price has probably gone up a lot since I last built a rear end..

I personally never reuse a ring and pinion because it so much harder to set up a worn gear set, and a ring and pinion of your choice of gear ratios makes it easier to see paying for a new set of gears.

This assumes you have the hydraulic press, dial indicators, stands depth mikes and calipers to set up a rear end (it isn't like you see on TV were a gear set gets thrown in the case and within 10 to 15 minutes you have a perfect contact pattern to show the audience on TV). You have to know what you are doing.

It isn't rocket science but if you have no idea you are going to be buying a lot of gear sets, side gears or axles to replace when you set the differential up wrong. You can read a book and figure it out on your own, but it still requires tools.

Big Dave
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-07-2020, 08:57 AM