T-56 floor pan mods? - Impala Tech
Transmission & Driveline Transmissions & Differentials

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 02:00 PM Thread Starter

T-56 floor pan mods?

Hello all, I have a 1966 2 door post belair. I am interested in putting a t-56 in it. Has anyone done this? How much modification is required to the floor pan? Would the bench seat still work? The car is currently a 4-speed car.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 05:46 PM

If you have not purchased a tranny yet the fine folks that make the T-56 (Tremec) now sell a T-56 designed to fit an older muscle car (called a TKO) so that you do not have to cut up the transmission tunnel. (this is based upon their print ads as I have no personal experience).

Big Dave
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 06:19 PM

It won't require any mods IF you don't run the reverse lock out solenoid. If you do, you just need to get angry with a ball peen hammer for a couple of minutes. No need to cut and weld.

Two doors, four doors, wagons, and ragtops.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 08:25 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Dave View Post
If you have not purchased a tranny yet the fine folks that make the T-56 (Tremec) now sell a T-56 designed to fit an older muscle car (called a TKO) so that you do not have to cut up the transmission tunnel. (this is based upon their print ads as I have no personal experience).

Big Dave

I thought the TKOs were only five speeds?

Do you have pictures of the "modification" jay?
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-22-2012, 11:26 PM