x frame problems - Impala Tech
Brakes & Suspension Conversion Questions & more

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-19-2007, 07:16 PM Thread Starter

x frame problems

Hey guys I am new and just wanted to say great site! I am somewhat new to this car and doing a frame off resto for a friend of mine. Things have been going well until now. The car is a 1964 impala convertible. The frame is rotted and slightly bent. We have located a 1964 biscayne 4 door which has an excellent frame under it. It seems the convertible frame was reinforced with thick steel top and bottom from the firewall to the rear wheel arch area. The frame on the biscayne does not have these plates. It seems since this is a convertible that those plates are nessasary. Is the biscayne frame the same other than the plates. If it will fit then I will take the plates off the rotted frame and reweld them on the biscayne frame. Does this sound like the way to go? I doubt im going to be able to find a clean convertible frame anywhere. Thanks guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-22-2007, 10:05 AM

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-24-2007, 06:35 AM

Check out this members pictures, he shows in detail how to fix the frame.
http://www.impalas.net/forums/showthread.php?t=686

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 11-24-2007, 03:41 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to 348-4speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by unlimited1320 View Post