bumper guards on a 66 with aftermarket bumpers? - Impala Tech
General Tech For best results use forums below.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 10:04 PM Thread Starter

bumper guards on a 66 with aftermarket bumpers?

Hello everyone. I have some NOS front and rear bumper guards and was wanting to order a chrome valance for my 66 and possibly an aftermarket rear bumper from Hubbardís Impala parts. Iím pretty sure my front bumper is aftermarket. Will my bumper guards fit or will this be an issue? Also, do rear aftermarket bumpers even have the holes for the rear bumper guards? Any info is much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-30-2020, 11:01 AM

I have no idea. I don't do restoration work so I have no experience in this area.

I would however pull the trigger and buy the replacement aftermarket bumpers iof the restoration house says they are an exact copy (dimensionally, not quality, or originality wise).

As to the holes I doubty it as that was an optional piece o even the factory bumpers were probably drilled on the line to install them. If so use a new drill bit, oil to lube the bit and a half inch drill motor set for as slow a rotation as you can and apply a lot of pressure.

Most people with after market bumpers complain about the quality (poor chrome plating process) and not whether they fit or not. You can see the black color of the chrome metal in most aftermarket bumpers and not the reflective depth of the chrome of an American car of the era. This is because chrome is much more expensive now (why the factory used polished stainless steel now instead of chrome plated mild steel).