Impalas.net banner

Hi All, Likely Buying a 1963 SS tomorrow, Advice

2K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  Rarerat 
#1 ·
Hi All,

I am new to the Impala scene. My son and I are going to look at a 1963 Impala 2 door coupe tomorrow and I wanted to ask if there are any particular problems areas that I should look out for? Also looking at the VIN this car comes up as an SS model, there is no trim or badges on the car so to look at it from the outside you would never know for sure. Are there other tell tale signs of an SS? What does an SS in this year even offer besides trim?

Here are a few images. Can we tell if it's an SS from the pics? Also what should I be paying for this sort of ride? It has a 350/TH350 (I know not original) and seller says body is super straight and paint is very nice. There are two holes in the passenger and drivers floor but besides that he says no rust. If all that checks out what do ya'll think?

Thanks in advance!!!

See less See more
#2 ·
You can quickly decode the cowl tag on your phone using this:

http://impalas.org/numbers/#vehicle

Use a fridge magnet in the obvious places (behind the front and rear tires, truck, etc.) to check for hidden rust. Obviously drive it. Price? Not sure - maybe someone else can chime in on that. If it's the one, you'll know it.

Happy hunting.

#3 ·
Welcome to the Team Jeremy!

Price varies by where you are located in the country, so I can not comment on value. As mentioned new paint can hide a lot of rust which is the bane of a car over a half century old (when I was kid buying old cars it wasn't the Tin coated steel that was the issue but the wooden frame that held the body upright. Termites and wood rot reduced most tin lizzies to leaning piles of sheet metal.