1963 Impala Red Interior - Impala Tech
Restoration Corner Aimed at Originality

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-22-2014, 01:56 PM Thread Starter

1963 Impala Red Interior

I've been hunting the web and requesting samples for the 1963 Impala Red interior. So far, it appears as though the original red was called medium red but seat cover samples look like a dark red and the carpeting and dash looks like a bright red.

Did Chevrolet use different reds in the interior in 1963? Does anyone happen to have a car with an original red interior that can send me some pics? I don't want to install the wrong colors here.

Thanks,
M
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-22-2014, 04:48 PM Thread Starter

Here is what I've found online regarding 1963 colors.

http://paintref.com/cgi-bin/colorcod...vrolet&rows=50

The samples that came in from Cidellia, Ecklers and Classic look like the "ember/ palomar red to me...nothing like the 63 truck red.

Does anyone know if Chevy used a different color for the dash and carpet on 63s? The images I've looked at online look allot lighter than the Ember/Palomar red and even lighter in cloth.

Anyone own an original 63 with original red interior? If so, send me some pictures.

Help is greatly appreciated. I want to get this right if possible.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 09-22-2014, 07:40 PM

Problem with photographs is that the saturation and hue (the color) can be affected or altered by lighting and the quality (source) of the light. Unless you are using indoor film (not digital) and tungsten photo bulbs for lighting and exposed for a grey card (18% grey) then you have no idea what color the interior shot is. Once the film is developed and printed it can be scanned and Hue, Saturation, Contrast and Brightness adjusted (usually referencing off the skin tones of the model accompanying the photo).