66 Biscayne Canadian - Impala Tech
Restoration Corner Aimed at Originality

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 07:23 AM Thread Starter

66 Biscayne Canadian

I知 doing a rotisserie on a Canadian Biscayne with a 427 L72 motor. What product did they use on the bottom of the body? We see drip marks. Is this some kind of dipped primer? Was the fire wall painted in the body Color on Canadian cars? We see the original Color willow green there. I believe American Biscayne the fire wall was painted black.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 07:44 AM Thread Starter
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 12:20 PM

Welcome to the Team!

I can not answer your question as I have no direct knowledge of a Canadian built car. From what I can see your car was not even undercoated but is in pristine condition. What you see is how they did it. With the area under the rear axle tunnel not being painted due to some one just not doing their job (probably talking to a co-worker about Hokey eh!) South of the border in towns like Detroit it would have been slathered with a tar like under coating similar to what you see sprayed on the bottom of the heater box ares of the foot well.

An L72 will not not run on today's pump gas as the static compression is too high stay out of detonation. An L72 was a 425 horse high performance engine used in racing with 11.00:1 static compression closed chambered high performance heads and a very healthy solid flat tappet cam. Finding one in a full size was very rare. It was built to be a sleeper from the factory (hot engine in a non-traditional body) and was a record holder on many race tracks. Racers chose the Biscayne body because it was lighter than the Impala or Caprice as it lacked sound deadening and other niceties. The sedan body was chosen more frequentlt than the hard top because it was lighter.