x frame - Impala Tech
Convertibles Convertible Q&A's

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-19-2007, 07:12 PM Thread Starter

x frame

Hey guys I am new and just wanted to say great site! I am somewhat new to this car and doing a frame off resto for a friend of mine. Things have been going well until now. The car is a 1964 impala convertible. The frame is rotted and slightly bent. We have located a 1964 biscayne 4 door which has an excellent frame under it. It seems the convertible frame was reinforced with thick steel top and bottom from the firewall to the rear wheel arch area. The frame on the biscayne does not have these plates. It seems since this is a convertible that those plates are nessasary. Is the biscayne frame the same other than the plates. If it will fit then I will take the plates off the rotted frame and reweld them on the biscayne frame. Does this sound like the way to go? I doubt im going to be able to find a clean convertible frame anywhere. Thanks guys!

Last edited by unlimited1320; 11-19-2007 at 07:13 PM. Reason: spelling
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-19-2007, 10:43 PM

Welcome to the board. If you have both frames available try it and see. I think it will work as long as it is reinforced like old one.

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-20-2007, 05:44 AM

Hey my first post. The 4 door and any 2 door frame will work but on the convertible frame besides the extra steel plating you mentioned, there is also 4 extra body mounts that hold the floor braces to the frame.
There are two coming off the frame towards about midway about where the front seat sits and two more that mounts to the brace that runs from side to side directly under where the rear seat sits.

You can carefully cut them off the bad frame and weld them onto the donor frame as long as they are not rusted out. Hope this helps.