Impalas.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I’m a newbie so this is the first post, first classic, and tons of questions. I’ve searched all over for the right answer. But first off this car has been lowered, there is not much ground clearance. When I search sites using my car it brings up full length tubes mostly and the shorty’s are for big blocks. It’s very frustrating. Also has power steering, auto trans. Can anyone help? Will full length fit on this lowered car or do I need shorty’s and part numbers would be great. Thanks

·
Registered
26 Posts
I used a set of Hedman. They are labeled as a full length but they seem more the size of mid length. Hard to describe. Pretty sure the part number is 68176. Would have to double check my paperwork from the shop.

·
Super Moderator
13,089 Posts
So besides the ram horn style will the block hugger style work
It will if the foot notes for that header model number states that they will work with your application.

1965-'70 had the steering gear box sitting behind the front axle the same as a Camaro. The header has to clear that. As such you can not use a Chevelle header as the 1968-'72 and all later cars had the steering gear box in front of the front axle out of the way (such as the change between a 1969 to 1970 year break). If you find a header to clear the steering gear box you also need one that accepts a Power Steering pump, and Air Conditioning brackets as well.