Impalas.net banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a 1967 Impala, runs doesn't drive. When the car was towed from my grandmother's house to mine the tow truck driver somehow found a way to bend one of the steering rods. Now one tire points right and the other points left. It's not the worst because I was going to replace anyway, but still pretty annoying. I'm only just getting into cars some I'm a pretty big noob when it comes to this kind of stuff, I'm 16. Does anyone know a good company I could get a full front end rebuild kit from? I need to replace the entire front end, but it seems that wherever I look its either $2,800 or its not everything I need, it's like half the kit or something. Can someone please point me in the right direction? Maybe somebody knows of a good company or good kit to purchase. Thanks!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm in CT, That was the first pic I took of the car once I got it towed to the house, didn't know how to get the convertible to go down any further so I just left it there lol. I've learned a lot about cars since then. Hadn't run in 18 years, runs rough now somethings wrong with the timing but that can be adjusted.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
348 Posts
a quick 30 sec eyeball shows that one is rubber while the other is poly. there may also be some other parts missing but you'll have to compare the two kits.

don't be in a rush to get them as you have to understand the differences between them. poly deflects less for better performance but rubber doesn't squeak for less noise and has been described as a "softer ride". the consensus seems to be rubber body mounts and poly suspension bushings, but again, it depends on what you're going to do with it.

@BigDogSS has got some experience n this area and also has a '67 just like us
@62BillT also has a bit of knowledge