Impalas.net banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 65 4 door Impala with a 327 and an Aluminum PG, Got it running and drove it for a few weeks and replaced the vac mod then it wouldn't move much so I pulled the pan and it was full of sludge and bits of metal.

I had someone take it apart and the high drum, disks, and band were toast so I had them replaced (also cleaned out everything) , Got it back into the car and drove around for awhile and sheared the rear pump pin so I had it replaced along with a new pump housing.

Now it runs ok until it warms up at which point it will not upshift until around 45MPH and letting off the throttle completely.
(when cold shifts at around 20-25)

Is it possible that the pump isn't the same for different years?, Or has something else quit on me.

This is my first time posting here. Sorry for any mistakes I may have made.

Any help would be very much appreciated. :)

·
Premium Member
13,156 Posts
Welcome to the Team Nicholas!

You are shifting on the governor; so I would assume the vacuum hose from the engine to the vacuum modulator fell off, or your vacuum modulator is defective. I am sorry you are having so many problems with your tranny. Rather than putting money into a PowerGlide I would have recommended a TH350 swap instead.

The TH350 has the same second gear ratio as your PowerGlide's low range so in affect with a PowerGlide you are driving around with a broken TH350 that won't shift into first gear. That lower ratio first gear gets the car rolling faster and with less strain on the engine.

Big Dave

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you, the line is connected but maybe the vac mod isn't working, I was thinking about a th350 swap but I might have to get floor shifter.

·
Premium Member
13,156 Posts
Thank you, the line is connected but maybe the vac mod isn't working, I was thinking about a th350 swap but I might have to get floor shifter.