Impalas.net banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just throwing this out there for anyone's opinion. I remember through the '50s and '60s one of the first things that stopped working in most American-made cars was the dashboard clock. These were the electric ones I'm referring to. Some time ago I studied the electric schematic for my '63 Impala and manage to find the circuit that ran from the clock through the firewall and on to the car's battery. I believe I noticed a fuse connection along that circuit. So, could a blown fuse be the reason these clocks stop working over time or something else?

In case anyone is wondering, the dashboard clock in my Impala doesn't work either. (Ahem!) I have it set at 5 o'clock. At least it shows the correct time twice a day!

I'll be anxiously awaiting any expert analysis on this matter!

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
1,615 Posts
It will be the mechanism itself. I had a good thread on fixing them, but I don't know where it is. I'll look. It's similar to cleaning points in a distributor.

Edit, found it. Can't believe I remembered this.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Appreciate that reply, Jay!
What you described sounds much more involved than just replacing a blown fuse. Therefore, I'll keep wearing my wristwatch and keep my dashboard clock set at 5!
Happy motoring!

·
Super Moderator
1,615 Posts
The clock on my 65 will re-start if I tap on the face. I'll do the fix someday when I take the cluster out to detail the lens and bezel. Or, quartz conversion.

·
Registered
32 Posts
It will be the mechanism itself. I had a good thread on fixing them, but I don't know where it is. I'll look. It's similar to cleaning points in a distributor.

Edit, found it. Can't believe I remembered this.

Jayoldschool, THANK YOU for posting this fix. The clock in my ‘63 SS is dead and I didn’t think I’d be able to fix it myself. Now I can.

·
Registered
1,448 Posts