Impalas.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a disabled vet needing a hobby. I have never restored a car before and don't really know where to start. I found a 67 impala 4 door that has a 283 with a 2 speed power tranny. The interior is basically striped except the front seat. It does drive. How much would a car like that be worth? Is there somewhere I could get a list of all tools required to do the restoration and where to start? Maybe a book that kind of walks you through it? I know I am biting off a lot but this is a dream of my son's and I to do together!

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Well you will probably love it and hate it at different points. I dont know of a book but asking questions here will help you thru to the end. I think your biggest problem will be finding 4 door parts .And thanks for your service.

·
Super Moderator
13,079 Posts
Welcome to the Team Jessie!

Besides dedication what skills do you and your son bring to the restoration? That will determine your starting point (the vehicle that you ultimately choose for your restore). The single most critical is being able to do body work at the fabrication level (able to form and weld thin sheet steel) as most of these cars have a lot of rusted panels in need of repair.

If you do not feel comfortable tackling fabrication and welding look to the desert south west (SoCal, Arizona, New Mexico, Nevada, and Texas) for used cars in better condition. Those cars will have good sound sheet metal but they will have cloudy sun burnt safety glass and all of the cloth and plastic interior parts will have turned to dust.