Impalas.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, my name is Finn and I just picked up a 1966 Impala convertible, 283 with a powerglide. It has 54,000 original miles but has work to be done. I've worked on vehicles for years, but mainly Imports and motorcycles. I have a few basic questions that might seam dumb, but I'm new to the chevy small block, so bear with me.
How do I tell what rear I have without pulling it out?
Spline?
C clip?
Diameter?
Gear Ratio?
I'm told the 283 isn't worth building, but all I wanna do is street drive it and I do LOVE standing burnouts, would I be able to do what I want with a shift kit, a 2500 stall TC, and a minispool?
The 283 has a decent cam, longtube headers, and electric pump and a edelbrock 625 cfm carb.

Sry for the novel, thanks for reading

·
Registered
389 Posts
How do I tell what rear I have without pulling it out?
Count the number of bolts on the cover, 10 or 12.

Spline?
Not sure, sorry but I think 12 bolt is 30 and 10 bolt is 25.

C clip?
Yes, it's a C clip style rear.

Diameter?
A 10 bolt cover is 8.25", a 12 bolt cover is 8.875"

Gear Ratio?
Look for the code on the passenger side axle tube, front or top of the tube, usually stamped closer to the center section than the outer end, then google the code you find, likely a 2 letter code.

I'm told the 283 isn't worth building, but all I wanna do is street drive it and I do LOVE standing burnouts, would I be able to do what I want with a shift kit, a 2500 stall TC, and a minispool?
You don't want a spool on the street with stock axles or you'll break something! A 283 in an Impala will struggle to do burnouts.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Welcome Finn!