Impalas.net banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
63 imp. 283. PG. 321 rear
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
High miles on a 63 PG aluminum case that’s never been dropped or rebuilt but has always had PM. Engine swap From a 6 to the V-8 283 Powerpacks.
Slow accelerating at the Long Hill at 40. I was promised but I don’t know that a new band install and rebuild would fix the problem. The second speed shift is hesitating and kind of slips in .
Comment here anyone’s had the this repair fix. 🇺🇸

·
Super Moderator
3,496 Posts
I'm no tranny expert but having had one behind a 327/4-barrel I can tell you that you definitely have to limit your expectations on acceleration. :-D Being a 2-speed, it is essentially like taking off in 2nd gear and then it shifts to 3rd. All of that great torque multiplication (seat of the pants power) that you might normally feel with any other transmission is simply never going to exist with a PG.

That said - I don't know how slow it's feeling to you but the slow shift into the top gear does seem like a basic rebuild will address that. Bands are key to that rebuild. I don't think it would make sense to remove the trans and do the bands without doing the front pump and typical full rebuild kit so hopefully that is the plan for you and the repair guy.

·
Registered
63 imp. 283. PG. 321 rear
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no tranny expert but having had one behind a 327/4-barrel I can tell you that you definitely have to limit your expectations on acceleration. :-D Being a 2-speed, it is essentially like taking off in 2nd gear and then it shifts to 3rd. All of that great torque multiplication (seat of the pants power) that you might normally feel with any other transmission is simply never going to exist with a PG.